Hytz Roofing vs. K&D Roofing: Which Is Right for Your Roof Replacement?

Hytz Roofing vs. K&D Roofing compared: service areas, Florida licenses, warranties (incl. GAF Golden Pledge), and financing for a roof replacement.

By

Roof Replacement scene illustrating Hytz Roofing vs. K&D Roofing: Which Is Right for Your Roof Replacement?

Hytz Roofing and K&D Roofing & Construction Co. (K&D Roofing, kanddroofing.com) are both Florida-licensed roofers that replace shingle, metal, and tile roofs, but they work on opposite sides of the state. Hytz Roofing serves Tampa Bay and Central Florida; K&D Roofing serves Jacksonville Beach, Ponte Vedra, and the surrounding Jacksonville area. For most homeowners, the right choice is decided by where the house is, and the real comparison only matters if you could plausibly hire either one.

Where the two do differ is in manufacturer warranty access, financing partners, and roof types offered. This guide lays those differences out side by side, using only what each company publishes and what the manufacturer and the State of Florida document.

What is the short answer when comparing Hytz Roofing and K&D Roofing?

  • Location decides first. Hytz Roofing lists service across Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Polk, Orange, Seminole, Sarasota, Collier, and Osceola counties. K&D Roofing says it serves homeowners east of the St. Johns River and throughout northern St. Johns County. Neither lists the other's region.
  • Warranty ceiling differs. Hytz Roofing is a GAF Master Elite contractor, the only tier GAF allows to register its Golden Pledge warranty, which adds GAF-backed workmanship coverage. K&D Roofing's website advertises a 10-year workmanship warranty and "manufacturer-backed shingle warranties" but does not name a manufacturer certification tier.
  • Experience is comparable. K&D Roofing has worked in Florida since 2003 and reports 7,000+ roofs installed. Hytz Roofing's owners cite 30+ years in the roofing industry.
  • Financing comes through different lenders. Hytz Roofing offers Upgrade personal loans and Movement Mortgage HELOC options; K&D Roofing's financing page lists EnerBank USA loan plans.

Which areas do Hytz Roofing and K&D Roofing serve?

Hytz Roofing is based in Tampa and lists 15+ cities on its service-area page, including Tampa, Brandon, Riverview, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Sarasota, Naples, Lakeland, Orlando, and Lake Mary. K&D Roofing operates from 74 6th St. S. in Jacksonville Beach and names Jacksonville Beach, Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach, Ponte Vedra, and Ponte Vedra Beach as its core market.

The two service maps do not overlap. A homeowner in Hillsborough County will not find K&D Roofing quoting locally, and a homeowner in Jacksonville Beach is outside every county Hytz Roofing lists. Local presence matters for a roof replacement because the contractor pulls the permit with your city or county building department, schedules its inspections, and has to come back if a warranty or leak call comes in later.

How do Hytz Roofing and K&D Roofing compare side by side?

FactorHytz RoofingK&D Roofing & Construction Co.
Home baseTampa, FLJacksonville Beach, FL
Service areaTampa Bay and Central Florida (9 counties)Jacksonville beaches, Ponte Vedra, northern St. Johns County
Florida license(s) publishedCertified Roofing Contractor CCC1332551CCC1325852 (roofing) and CBC1258249 (building)
Experience claim30+ years (owners' combined industry experience)In Florida since 2003; family business started in Ohio in 1990; 7,000+ roofs
Manufacturer statusGAF Master Elite and GAF President's ClubNot specified on its website
Workmanship warranty (contractor)10 years10 years
Top manufacturer warranty availableGAF Golden Pledge (Master Elite only)"Manufacturer-backed shingle warranties" (tier not stated)
Residential roof typesShingle, tile, metal, TPO/flatShingle, metal, tile
Financing partnersUpgrade personal loans; Movement Mortgage HELOCEnerBank USA loan plans

Every row above comes from the companies' own websites, checked on October 6, 2026. Confirm anything that affects your decision directly with the contractor before you sign.

How do the roof replacement warranties from Hytz Roofing and K&D Roofing differ?

Both companies publish the same contractor workmanship term: 10 years. The difference is what can be stacked on top of it from the shingle manufacturer.

GAF ties its strongest residential warranty, the Golden Pledge Limited Warranty, to its Master Elite contractor tier. According to GAF's residential warranty comparison, Golden Pledge requires installation of a qualifying Timberline shingle plus at least five qualifying GAF accessory products by a Master Elite contractor. It provides 50 years of non-prorated coverage against manufacturing defects, plus GAF-backed workmanship coverage for misapplication: 25 years non-prorated on Timberline HDZ and HDZ RS, and 30 years non-prorated on Timberline AS II and UHDZ. GAF's lower tiers either exclude workmanship (System Plus) or cover it for 10 to 15 years (Silver Pledge).

That workmanship piece is the practical difference. A contractor's own workmanship warranty is only as good as the contractor's ability to honor it years later. A manufacturer-backed workmanship warranty puts GAF behind installation errors as well, for a longer period. Hytz Roofing's roof replacement page states it offers Golden Pledge on qualifying installations.

K&D Roofing's site does not say which manufacturer's system it installs or what certification it holds, so a Jacksonville homeowner should ask directly which brand and warranty tier the quote includes, request the warranty document by name, and confirm the contractor's status in the manufacturer's online directory.

What do the Florida licenses held by Hytz Roofing and K&D Roofing mean?

Both companies publish "CCC" license numbers, which is Florida's Certified Roofing Contractor credential issued by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). Under Section 489.105, Florida Statutes, a certified contractor can work in any jurisdiction in the state, while a registered contractor is limited to the local jurisdictions where the registration was issued. The same statute defines a roofing contractor's scope as unlimited within the roofing trade, including installing, repairing, and altering all kinds of roofing, waterproofing, and coating.

K&D Roofing also lists a CBC number, Florida's Certified Building Contractor credential. Section 489.105 limits a building contractor to commercial and residential buildings up to three stories, or to remodeling and repair work that does not affect structural members. Holding both licenses lets one company take on general building work alongside the roof. For a standard reroof, the CCC license is the one that matters.

A license number on a website is a claim, not proof. Look up either number on DBPR's public license search to confirm it is current and issued to the company you are talking to.

How does roof financing at Hytz Roofing compare with K&D Roofing?

Hytz Roofing lists two routes: Upgrade personal loans and Movement Mortgage home equity line of credit (HELOC) options. A personal loan is unsecured and usually faster to approve; a HELOC is secured by the house and often carries a lower rate but adds closing steps and puts your home equity on the line.

K&D Roofing's financing page lists three EnerBank USA plans: a 6-month same-as-cash plan where interest is waived if repaid within 180 days (otherwise a 17.99% fixed APR applies over 24 to 132 months), a 5-year loan at 9.99% fixed APR, and installment loans at 8.99% to 14.99% fixed APR based on credit. The page notes those rates were effective May 1, 2022, so treat them as a starting point and ask for current terms.

With either company, compare the financed quote against the cash price for the same scope. Contractor loan programs sometimes build a lender fee into the project price, and a same-as-cash plan only saves money if the full balance is paid before the promotional window closes.

Which roofer should a Florida homeowner choose for a roof replacement?

If your home is in Tampa Bay or Central Florida, Hytz Roofing is the one of these two that works in your area, and its Master Elite status gives you access to GAF's Golden Pledge warranty. You can review its process, materials, and warranty options on the Hytz Roofing roof replacement page for Tampa.

If your home is in Jacksonville Beach, Ponte Vedra, or northern St. Johns County, K&D Roofing is the local option of the two. Before signing, ask which manufacturer's system the quote uses, which warranty tier is included, and whether that warranty covers workmanship or only materials.

Whichever side of the state you are on, get at least two written quotes that describe the same scope: shingle line, underlayment, accessories, deck replacement allowance, permit, and warranty tier. Price comparisons are only fair when the scope underneath them matches.

Frequently asked questions

Can I hire a Tampa roofer for a house in Jacksonville?

Legally, a Florida certified roofing contractor (CCC license) can pull permits anywhere in the state under Section 489.105, Florida Statutes. Practically, most roofers only take jobs inside the area they list, because crews, material supply, inspections, and warranty service all depend on being nearby. Hytz Roofing's published service area does not include Duval or St. Johns County.

Is a 10-year workmanship warranty enough on a new roof?

A 10-year contractor workmanship warranty is common and covers installation errors that usually show up in the first several years, such as flashing leaks or nail placement problems. It depends entirely on the contractor still being in business when you need it. A manufacturer-backed workmanship warranty, like the 25 non-prorated years GAF attaches to Golden Pledge on Timberline HDZ, adds a second party behind the installation for longer.

How do I check whether a roofer really holds a manufacturer certification?

Use the manufacturer's own contractor locator rather than a badge on the roofer's website. GAF's directory lists certified contractors by level (Certified, Certified Plus, Master Elite, and President's Club), and certification status can change from year to year, so check it close to the date you sign.

Sources